Book/Movie Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me_Before_You_(film)

*SPOILERS!!!*

Let’s all just take a moment to gather some tissues and maybe some chamomile tea as we dive into the review of both the movie and the book of Me Before You.

Sooooo I finished the book an hour before I went to see the movie (which I do NOT recommend please do not follow in my footsteps because I made a MISTAKE!). I was planning on taking a picture with the movie poster thing, but I didn’t have any time to actually heal from the book so I was a teary, blotchy-faced wreck the entire day and I didn’t want to subject you kind people to the mess that is me.

The Book

So firstly, the book was a good one! I gave it a solid 4 out of 5 stars on goodreads, docking a star mainly because I don’t do contemporary, 1st person, depressing novels very often. This one was one of the better ones that i’ve read! The main problem I had with this book was that the pacing was rather slow, but I honestly don’t think it could’ve been written any other way.

There’s been a lot of controversy around Will’s decision to end his life in the reviews I read on Goodreads, and I suppose I’ll throw my opinion out there into the world as well. I think (keep in mind if your opinion is different, I completely respect it as you should respect mine) that what Will did was completely justified. I think that assisted suicide, while really very sad, is okay in some circumstances because people have a right to decide what to do with their bodies. Unfortunately for Will, he had virtually no choices he could make for himself after the accident and was just overall an unhappy person.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m REAL sad that he and Louisa didn’t figure something out and lived long happy lives together filled with rainbows and bumblebee striped tights!

But that wasn’t the case 😦

I think it’s good that this book touched on tons of the sort of “unspeakable” topics because it’s not something people really talk about. ANYWAY, regardless of your stance on that whole can of worms, I think we can all agree that it was a very well written and heartbreaking novel!

The Movie

This’ll be rather short because i’m really only going to talk about the actors.

Emilia Clark was absolutely adorable! I loved how expressive her face was and her acting was just really good all in all. She wasn’t exactly the way I though Lou would act, but I honestly really didn’t mind at all. Sam Claflin was also a wonderful Will! I felt he was just the right amount of sarcastic and moody. Honestly the entire casting was on point and I loved it!

My absolute favorite parts all had to do with the bumblebee tights honestly. I loved when she told Will about them and I loved when he gave her a pair (also the scene where Will tells Patrick that Lou gives a good bed bath was so funny!) and I loved (in a sad heart wrenching way) the ending scene in Paris.

I just loved the entire movie, really.

The only problems I had were in Switzerland, the parents didn’t seem nearly as upset as I thought they would be and they didn’t add in the whole story about the maze which I feel like really developed Louisa’s character.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this review! Tell me your thoughts on the movie and book in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

