Book Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

18006496.jpg

*Spoiler-free review*

Took me 18 years, but I finally finished this giant book!

Lemme start off by saying that I had high hopes for this book. I really really wanted to like it, but some things just bugged me. That’s not to say I hated the book, actually, I really liked it, but I think i’m kind of a minority when it comes to this one because I wasn’t head-over-heels in love with it.

The Characters 

So, here’s where many of my problems start. A lot of character development disappeared for some reason in this book and I felt like I was reading different characters most of the time which STUNK, but oh whale!

Celaena/Aelin/Mala fire bringer wildfire queen person child of the sun blessing to us all etc. Okay. So i’m a bit confused and somewhat disappointed that Celaena is now suddenly Aelin and hates her old self??? Like??????? I understand what Sarah J. Maas was going for, a girl maturing into a queen and all that, but to completely change her name and forget (not to mention disrespect) her old self? I quite liked Celaena actually. That was a tad bit extreme for me, but to each his own I guess.

Chaol deserved SO much more, guys. Whoever I read in Queen of Shadows was NOT Chaol until the very end when everything was resolved. I felt like I was back to book 1 with him (and not even that), and the fact that suddenly he hated Aelin really confused me. Didn’t they leave on somewhat good terms? That may be because I was a big Chaolaena shipper, but that obviously isn’t going to be endgame :/ ALSO, i’m angry that Nesryn Faliq was written into this book as just a love interest for Chaol so that Chaolaena would look completely done. She has so much potential guys. ALSO, Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight painted Chaol to be endgame with Celaena and then all of a sudden there’s literally nothing there anymore? Talk about emotional whiplash! (I’m honestly forming a Chaol Westfall defense squad who’s with me?)

Dorian. I can’t really say much without spoiling, just that I totally ship him and Manon and also I missed this puppy dog so much it hurts me.

Rowan is suddenly in love with Aelin even though they saw each other two weeks ago and the last time he saw her there was no romantic intentions???? Am super duper confused??? I was hoping Aelin could finally just have a solid friend??? He’s hot tho so I’m not complaining.

Lysandra was baeeeee! I loved how all the girl hate was gone and she and Aelin were just friends. She was a great character and I love her sarcasm and remarks so much. She really brought a lighter element to the book.

Plot 

The plot was very good! The only problem I had was that it was so long, and I felt like it didn’t really need to be. All the big climaxes were all really well thought out and executed. Sarah’s writing is very very good and it’s getting better, I just feel like the characters in this book were its downfall which was really sad 😦

Quotes I loved

“She looked at them, at the three males who meant everything—more than everything. Then she smiled with every last shred of courage, of desperation, of hope for the glimmer of that glorious future. “Let’s go rattle the stars.”

“But perhaps the monsters needed to look out for each other every now and then.”

“They were infinite. They were the beginning and the ending; they were eternity. The king standing before them gaped as the shield of flame died out to reveal Aelin and Dorian, hand in hand, glowing like newborn gods as their magic entwined.”

“But she was her own champion now.”

Well, it wasn’t the review I wanted to give, but here it is all the same. Tell your thoughts in the comments!

(Being serious about that Chaol defense squad)

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

