Book Review: Under My Skin by Laura Diamond

29080076

*Spoiler-Free*

Bookish Brit Adam Gibson is one wonky heartbeat away from a fatal arrhythmia. But staying alive requires Adam to become keenly focused on both his pulse and the many different daily medications he must take in exactly the right dosages. Adam’s torn between wanting to live and knowing that someone else must die in order for him to do so. He needs a new heart.
The pressure is getting to him. Adam stops talking to his friends back home, refuses to meet kids at his new school, and shuts his parents out entirely. His days are spent wondering if can cope with having a dead man’s heart beating inside his chest, or if he should surrender to the thoughts of suicide swirling around in his head.
And then a donor is found…
Outspoken artist Darby Fox rarely lets anything stand in her way of achieving her goals . Whether it’s painting, ignoring her homework (dyslexia makes a mess out of words anyway), kissing a hot boy she doesn’t even know, or taking the head cheerleader down a peg , no one has ever accused Darby of being a shy. She also happens to be the twin sister to a perfect brother with good looks, good grades, manners, and the approval of their parents – something Darby has never had.
Darby’s always had bad timing . She picks the worst time to argue with her brother Daniel. In a car with bald tires, on an icy road in the freezing cold, the unthinkable happens. In a split-second, everything changes forever.

Guess who’s finally out of her year-long reading slump?! MEEEE! And I’m super-duper pumped for all the great books i’ve been sent by Bound Book Tours! I gave this book a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads because, while there were some really great aspects, I had a few minor problems.

The Pros

The writing was breath-taking! It was filled with metaphors and similes (of which, I am always a huge fan of honestly). I felt like it was almost written to be a movie because of its great imagery! I think that this was what helped me out of my reading slump, actually. I just needed to be reminded that there are beautiful words!

The book dealt with depression very well, in my opinion! It’s a sensitive topic, but I felt it was handled really well. I was actually very surprised at how well the therapy scenes were written (actually felt like I was the one getting therapy at times!). The dialogue Dr. Shaw had was very intuitive, forcing you to look at things from a different angle. Though I did have some confusion with Dr. Shaw, but more on that later!

The premise is a great idea! It reminded me a bit of that one movie, Return To Me! I really love that movie, but my love for it may be because the main guy plays Mulder in The X-Files.

tumblr_o0e34ezGvP1uag7wxo1_500

look at my bby 🙂

Anyway, back on topic, sorry!

Adam and Stephanie really surprised me. Adam was a little odd, and maybe a slightly unpredictable character, but I grew to like him! Stephanie almost got another one of my please-stop-making-blonde-cheerleaders-mean-people rant, until the end! She really redeemed herself, and I applaud the author for that!

The Cons

Darby wasn’t my favorite. If she didn’t have a whole other POV, I would’ve rated the book higher. My biggest determining factor is characters for how I like the book, so since Darby was a big chunk of it, I liked the book somewhat less. I found her to be very rude to everyone. I think she was suppose to be a rebellious teen, but to me, she was just a jerk. Her parents tried time and time again to tell her that they loved her, but she didn’t ever listen. I just found her very frustrating at times.

Insta-loveish kinda sorta happened. But i’m not sure, because of the whole twin thing. I felt like one minute, Adam was talking to Darby, and then the next he wanted to kiss her. And then Darby suddenly feels like Adam is the only one who understands, and all that jazz. *Le-sigh*.

Dr. Shaw felt very unrealistic. I feel like what she was doing was extremely unprofessional, and wouldn’t actually happen in real life? But that’s just me. It actually confused me at the beginning, because I wasn’t sure if she was telling the truth and Adam was depressed, or she was just saying that to confuse him, or she actually thought he was depressed, or what!? I was just super confused with her whole character.

The Parents on both sides (Adam and Darby), were very very bad at being parents. They had a very tough time listening to their children it seems. This was a little frustrating, especially when Adam was trying to talk to his mom about Dr. Shaw.

I recommend this book to people who like contemporary novels!

Under My Skin is available on Amazon and Goodreads!

If you have any questions or want to share your thought, please comment down below!

YA Bound Tour Button

One thought on “Book Review: Under My Skin by Laura Diamond

  1. Pingback: Hellos & Goodbyes: July 2016 – wordishwonderland

Leave a Reply

