Book Review: The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

27396942
Magic can do a lot—give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and bring their children home.
However, Gwen doesn’t know this. She’s just a sixteen-year-old girl with a place on the debate team and a powerful crush on Jay, the soon-to-be homecoming king. She doesn’t know her little sister could actually run away with Peter Pan, or that she might have to chase after her to bring her home safe. Gwen will find out though—and when she does, she’ll discover she’s in the middle of a looming war between Neverland and reality.
She’ll be out of place as a teenager in Neverland, but she won’t be the only one. Peter Pan’s constant treks back to the mainland have slowly aged him into adolescence as well. Soon, Gwen will have to decide whether she’s going to join impish, playful Peter in his fight for eternal youth… or if she’s going to scramble back to reality in time for the homecoming dance.

Available: Goodreads // Amazon

Pages: 302

Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure

Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing June 6, 2016

FormatBound Book Tours, e-book

I’m crYING!!!! Do you understand how much a absolutely adore Peter Pan retellings? Almost more than I adore the actual story. I may be slightly biased since every time Peter is mentioned in anything my heart sings 🙂

(okay, but even in Once Upon a Time when he was evil I was still in love someone send help)

My love for the story and the actual book, scored The Neverland Wars a solid 4/5 on Goodreads for me!

The Good

Gwen was super duper relatable for me. I understood all of what she was talking about in the beginning about feeling a little out of place, and wishing she was still a child. Like, girl same here. I also saw a lot of character development (I am always a slut for character development) and I adored her relationship with her sister.

Peter Pan intrigued me! I loved how he gradually got older every time he visits the real world. I feel like his essence and spirit were captured very well ❤ Though I do wish there was a bit more characterization because I felt a little detached from his character at times.

The writing was wonderful! I felt like I was reading a whimsical fairytale which very much fit the whole Peter Pan retelling. Everything was displayed so prettily and in a non-confusing way. Neverland was also pretty cool! In one aspect, it was like the Neverland we all know and love, but it was also a bit of the author’s perspective, which I thought was awesome!

The Cons

The War aspect was a bit confusing. I wasn’t entirely convinced with how the parents and Peter Pan were at war. I also found that there was much less fight and more flight/exploring. The blurb kind of makes it sound that there is more swashbuckling than there really is (and there weren’t any pirates which I was kind of sad about). I felt like there should’ve been more explanation about why the whole war was happening.

The adults were a little bit unrealistic. I found that all of them were stick in the muds, but that could’ve been the author’s whole point. I wish that the adults were portrayed as a bit less bad-guyish, but that’s just me! (Peter is probably not very happy with me about this one!)

The ending was too abrupt for my liking. I’m not sure if there’s a second book or not, but the ending made it seem like there would be! That being said, if there is another addition, i’d love to read it!

Anyway! Thank you so much for reading this review! Let me know what you thought about The Neverland Wars in the comments below 🙂

Tinkerbell_and_peter_pan_gif

YA Bound Tour Button

Side note: Sorry for not posting anything but reviews this month! I’m busy with life and such, but next month or perhaps the month after when things calm down, I will begin posting a variety of other things 🙂 thank you for your patience!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse

  1. “I am always a slut for character development” has got to be the best line out of any review for this book that I’ve seen so far. I too, am a slut for character development, and I’m glad to hear I was apparently pimpin’ the character development of my protagonist. Awesome review, Hannah, thanks so much for taking the time to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Hellos & Goodbyes: July 2016 – wordishwonderland

Leave a Reply

