Book Review: Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.


Available:  Goodreads // Amazon

Pages: 204

Genres: Poetry

Publisher: November 4th 2014 by Createspace

Format: Bought, Paperback

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮ (5/5)

Wowowowow. How I can put my love for this book into words is almost impossible, but I’m gonna try. I got this yesterday and read it all in one sitting (which wasn’t hard, as some pages just have one sentence, but at least I read something!). I’m having a hard time reading actual books at the moment (a.k.a, why I haven’t been posting as much *sadface*).

BUT!!!!

This’ll be a mini review because (as I said above) it’s so freaking hard to put my love into words!!!!!!!! HaLp!

Theme

Soooo this book brought up the theme of feminism a lot, and I think that it really did the topic justice. It had me in tears many times. My favorite part was The Healing part of the book because I agree/relate to everything the author was writing about.

Just ❤ ❤ ❤

Actually, this book did bring up many “forbidden” topics such as rape, and handled everything so so well. A part of the book was slightly dark (which can be understood, obviously), but I loved the closure and how everything seemed to be resolved (which isn’t the word I was looking for, but eh) in a positive light.

In other words:

SuPeR eMpOwErInG!

Writing

tears-of-joy

*an actual representation of me whilst reading this book*

This review is literally the hardest one I’ve ever written because I loved every part of it that I have no idea what to say. The writing? Absolutely gorgeous. The message? Absolutely gorgeous. The illustrations? Freaking fantastic!

But in all seriousness, the writing made me so happy. Some of the poems were simple, but that’s what made it all the more powerful.

I actually read some out loud to my dad (who doesn’t normally read), and he enjoyed it, so if that doesn’t tell you how good it is, I dunno what will.


Anywho! Thank you for reading this extremely mini-review! Just know that the book was beautiful and that you should definitely go read it.

Let me know what you thought in the comments below!

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

  1. Pingback: Hellos & Goodbyes: August – wordishwonderland

Leave a Reply

