Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

book-review

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

Available: Goodreads // Amazon

Pages:  439

Genres: Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction

Publisher: April 26th 2016 by Scholastic Press

Format: Bought, Hardcover

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮ (5/5)


*minor-spoilers*

Is it just me, or does this entire series just have that frolic-through-the-woods vibe? Well, I went hiking because of this book and it was all because I am so so sad that this series is over!

I’m going to miss everything, but mostly, I’m going to miss all of the wonderful wonderful characters. What will I do without the raven gang in the back of mind?

qokg_f-maxage-0

Plot

First of all, in the GR description, it says: Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted. And do you realize Gansey’s thiNG IS “SAFE AS LIFE”???? Do you reALIZE WHAT THAT MEANS?? I’ve already read the book, and I’m still freaking out about the description, oh dear… This is gonna be a long road to recovery.

I’m literally always crying on the inside because of my absolute love for the existence of this book. I’m in love with the characters and their fantastical quest. I’m in love with the scenery and the descriptions and the ghosts and the kings.

Lordy what a mess this series has made me.

The plot was well paced. I was never bored (just crying), and I was always looking forward to what was going to happen next (and crying). While I did kind of predict the ending, I didn’t expect a lot of the getting there (also, did I mention that I’m crying?).

Mood/Tone

As always, The Raven King brought that whole otherworldly feel to just regular life just like the first three books. For example, I went through my days like so:

Me, telling my mother I’m going to Barnes & Noble: I’m takin’ Pig to the bookstore!

Me, getting ready for my AP Government exam: Do it for Adam Parrish

Me, in my backyard, speaking to trees: Do you speak Latin or are you just ignoring me, plz respond.

Me, whenever it was a foggy morning: I gotta go find some sleeping Welsh kings, make way for The Raven Queen!!!!!

I’m pretty sure this whole town thinks I should be put in an asylum or something honestly.

But seriously, when you live in a small town near Virginia and you read these books, you can’t not feel like something magical is in the air! And boy, am I gonna miss that feeling 😦

(But did you hear Maggie Stiefvater is thinking about doing a whole series about Ronan?? Bring. It. On.)

Characters

Okay, before we get to the raven gang, can I just say how much I appreciate Piper as a person? Like, she’s feminine, cares about her appearance, loves fashion, but also is basically the main villain of this story. Like, she has so much confidence, and deserves a whole lot of antagonist credit.

Now, the raven gang. I love love love each and every one of these puppy dogs like they are my own children. I am beyond proud of all of them. I love Gansey because he isn’t your typical “Brooding, Angsty YA Guy”, and that’s super refreshing.  He’s considerate and dorky, but is also a king, guys. And then Adam Parrish

Gosh, see? That whole paragraph probably wasn’t even in correct sentences (which is fine since sentences don’t do my love for them justice anyway).

AND THEN!!! Henry Cheng, guys! I probably relate with him more than anyone else in this book, and it’s all because of this quote:

“It wasn’t that Henry was less of himself in English. He was less of himself out loud. His native language was thought.”

I feel you Henry!

Anyway, I could go on and on about every character for hours, but i’ll suppress it.


I suppose this review was sort of a goodbye post too?

200x200px-zc-023d882f_crying-man

I’m still holding out for that Ronan series, though.

Anyway, let me know your thoughts about TRK in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. the raven king left me in such a book hangover and I was sad because it ended yet happy because the raven boys always make my days. it will always be one of my favourite series of all time. & also Pinterest and Tumblr keep my love for them alive 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

