Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

Available: Goodreads // Amazon

Pages: 367

Genres: contemporary, new adult

Publisher: August 2nd 2016 by Atria Books

Format: Bought, Paperback

Rating: 4/5 stars


*minor-spoilers*

I was very unprepared for the heaviness that was this book. And don’t worry, this is a spoiler-free review, because I think that going into this without knowing anything is the absolute best way to read it.

Now, lemme just start off by saying, I was in the mood for a fluffy contemporary with very little problems, and I did not get that from this book at all. I went into it without knowing anything and was prepared for it to be happy, but by the end I was sobbing at 3 AM.

So, I suppose Mrs. Hoover did a great job with the subject she was portraying!

Plot

Regardless of the heavy topic, it was very well-written in the sense that I didn’t feel sad the entire book. There was a great bit of happiness and comedy spread throughout. I think that I would’ve had to stop reading if there wasn’t. I also loved the foreshadowing and build up. ‘Twas very well done!

The eye-openingness of this book was huge for me. This particular subject has always been a little black and white and I never really thought about it much, but now I realize how big of an issue it is and how important it is to know about it! (So, thank you Colleen Hoover!)

BUT since there was happiness and comedy integrated, I finished this book in one whole day, something I haven’t been able to do in a long long long time!

fuxejpd

go me!

*side note: This is the first Colleen Hoover book I’ve ever read, and I really enjoyed it! If they’re not all this heavy then I will definitely be reading one in the future!

Characters

Aight, so Lily was a GREAT character! My favorite scenes were the ones when she wrote to Ellen because I actually use to do that when I was younger (I called my journal like Margaret or something, so not exactly the same thing, but close!). She was so relatable because she wasn’t the perfect kinda-awkward/not-like-other-girls female lead that we usually see in contemporaries.

*side note: I don’t usually do contemporaries, so ayyy! Look who’s branching out?!

fuxejpd

go me!

Anywho, as for Ryle (I spent half the book calling him Rile, as in riled up, and then I realized my brain was being a weirdo) I have complicated feelings about him because I can tell he’s a good person, but also I dunno, man. So I guess I feel bad for him/like his character, but am also really super duper angry at him??? This book was really good at pointing out how weird (and kinda annoying) feelings are!

Lily’s mom was also such a strong and important character who deserves to be loved and protected!!!

And that’s all I have to say about that because any more would lead to spoilers and I already promised that this would be non-spoilery!

Other

I also read the back of the book in the “Author’s Note” section, and I have to say that I just want to give the author a big hug and a plate of cookies for writing this book the way she did. It must have taken so much strength to do, and I think it’s truly amazing that someone


Anyway, I’m sorry if this book review was a little vague, I just really think that not knowing anything before going into this book makes it all the more powerful!

Let me know what you thought about this book in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

