Book Review | Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout

opal

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

Available: Goodreads // Amazon

Pages: 382

Genres: Sci-Fi, Young Adult, Romance

Publisher: December 11th 2012 by EntangledTeen

Format: Bought, Paperback

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Recommend: People who like books about aliens and romance. Good for book-slumps and those who want a light read!


This book surprised me!

The last two books were light, fun reads, but a lot of the plot consisted of unnecessary angst and making out. Don’t get me wrong, this edition did have quite a bit of angst and making-out, but it was (mostly) relevant!

And who doesn’t love relevant angst and making-outamiright?!

*No Spoilers!*

Plot

The plot was wayyy stronger in this book and I loved it! I actually felt that the book was motivated by events. It was less about whether or not Daemon decided not to be a jerk which was a big improvement.

ANNNNDD most importantly, some things that happened throughout the book actually surprised me which was nice!

giphy

I was happy that I got to learn more about some side-ch

aracers and that some of them influenced the plot. I found that there was never really a dull moment and events kept the book moving at quite a nice pace!

One thing I liked was the character development in each of the characters. I saw how each one was changing (though, I feel like Katy could’ve had a bit more, but more on that below!) which was good since they are all under extreme stress and anyone would be bound to change under-pressure.

And since this is a no-spoiler review, I can’t really say much more except that the ending was such a horrible cliff-hanger!!! (I might have accidentally spoiled myself for it, so I was able to prepare myself, but DO NOT DO THAT because it will totally ruin the heartbreak and we don’t want that!)

Characters

Katy is such a relatable character. I love how she’s a book reviewer and I love how she’s a reader! What I don’t understand is how on Earth she can read so many books, review them and blog (apparently 5 posts a month is a low for her… Dang, girl.), get good grades in school, have a serious boyfriend, come to grips with her newfound powers, and defeat some crazy government-alien-area 51 organization in her spare time??? Like?? Do you know how to sleep?? Another thing is that while all that stress does affect her for like a few hours, nothing, and I mean nothing seems to damage her mentally. Remember when she was tortured?? Her voice is now hoarse, but you’d think that she’d have some lasting effects?? Nightmares or something?? And then the fact that she has been attacked by freaking aliens and hasn’t gotten just a little bit jumpy?? I need her time and will-power because jeez.

Daemon has never been my favorite. I feel like his and Katy’s relationship has never really been a healthy one. He never lets her do things on her own. I believe he said something like he didn’t want Katy to walk through a door before he did in this book. And also, it’s all about trust and choice! He should be able to let her make her own decisions. Yes, he can be worried, but if that worry leads to him controlling her every move?? No, sir!

tenor

Dee had the most character development in this book. I actually enjoyed seeing her break-down a little bit. The devastation she felt in the previous book had lasting effects on her which is natural! I wish I could say the same about Katy. From what little we saw from Dee, I loved watching her journey to healing. There were plenty of low points (also normal), but I was very happy when she tried to make an effort to restore her friendship with Katy.

Blake is an interesting character to me. That doesn’t mean I like his character as he is definitely a creep (wayyyyy too creepy omg). I would like to know why he did what he did, because I feel his reasons are more deep than his relationship with Chris. I think he might be a lil’ messed up (and by little, I mean a LOT) on top of wanting Chris to be safe and I want to know whyyyyy! I don’t believe anyone is inherently cruel, so something had to happen. Maybe we will get an explanation in the next book? I hope so!

Dawson was a big part of this story, but I honestly didn’t seem to notice him very much. One thing about having Katy as the only narrator is that she doesn’t have a close relationship (especially in this book) with anyone but Daemon. I feel like he is so much more than he is described (basically Daemon’s clone). I really would like to go deeper into his character, but, of course, that’s hardto do in first person!!


Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know what you think about this book, or about the Lux series in general! I’d love to here your thoughts!

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

